Lot # 1: 1981 Chicago Tribune Big Ten Silver Football Trophy

Category: Memorabilia

Starting Bid: $525.00

Bids: 27 (Bid History)

Time Left: Auction closed
Lot / Auction Closed

This lot is closed. Bidding is not allowed.

Item was in Auction "2024 Winter Auction",
which ran from 1/15/2024 11:00 AM to
1/27/2024 11:40 PM

The Chicago Tribune Silver Football trophy presented to Ohio State's Art Schlichter following the 1981 football season.  This is annually awarded to the best Big Ten football player as determined by a vote from the conference's head coaches.  This has been presented since 1924 when Illinois' Red Grange took home the inaugural award. It pre-dates the Heisman Memorial Trophy Award by 11 years with its inaugural winner Jay Berwanger sweeping both awards in 1935. Schlichter was Ohio State's 10th award winner of this trophy with Archie Griffin winning it twice in 1973 and 1974.

This trophy stands 28" tall and 11.5" wide with a depth of 11.5". It weighs 10 lbs. and 5 oz. Sticker on the bottom says Creative Awards by Lane in Elk Grove, Illinois. This is the first Big Ten Silver Football award that we've seen publicly for sale and certainly the first we've handled.

Views: 516