Lot # 26: Six Cut Lot of 1942 National Champions - George Lynn

Category: Autographs

Starting Bid: $20.00

Bids: 0 (Bid History)

Time Left: Auction closed
Lot / Auction Closed

This lot is closed. Bidding is not allowed.

Item was in Auction "National Champs Auction",
which ran from 8/15/2022 11:00 AM to
8/27/2022 8:00 PM

Six (6) cut lot of members of the 1942 Ohio State National Championship winning team. All the cuts were signed in blue ballpoint pen and include Captain George Lynn, Ken Coleman, Carmen Naples, Cyril Lipaj, Don Steinberg, and Bob McCormick.  Ohio State's only loss that season came in "The Bad Water Game" at Wisconsin when several Ohio State players went ill after drinking stale water during the train ride north.

Led by brilliant performances by Les Horvath and Paul Sarringhaus, the Buckeyes went on to defeat the Wolverines by two touchdowns. They defeated Iowa Pre-Flight a week later to finish 9-1 and as Hall of Fame head coach Paul Brown helped Ohio State capture their first ever National Championship. 


Views: 71