Lot # 53: 1970 Ohio State Team Signed Football - National Champs!

Category: Autographs

Starting Bid: $500.00

Bids: 1 (Bid History)

Time Left: Auction closed
Lot / Auction Closed

This lot is closed. Bidding is not allowed.

Item was in Auction "National Champs Auction",
which ran from 8/15/2022 11:00 AM to
8/27/2022 8:00 PM

After being upset in the 1969 finale, Ohio State's players that won the National Championship as sophomores returned for their final season with one thing on their mind. While they entered the season as the top ranked team in the country, they kept slipping down in the rankings with close Big Ten games. By the time the last weekend of the regular season rolled around, Michigan entered the game as the fourth ranked team and Ohio State was fifth. Defensive Coordinator Lou McCullough spent a year designing his defense to stop the Wolverines and it was never more evident than that November day in Columbus. The Buckeyes defense held Michigan to just a single touchdown and 38 yards rushing after entering the game averaging 31 points per game. Afterwards, the National Football Foundation (NFF) awarded Ohio State the National Championship -- the fifth for Woody Hayes and the sixth in school history.

This 1970 team signed ball was signed by more than 25 members of the 1970 National Championship team including All-Americans Rex Kern, Mike Sensibaugh, John Brockington, Jan White, Jim Stillwagon, Tom DeLeone, Tim Anderson, and John Hicks. On the front panel, it is signed by Athletic Director Dick Larkins and Quarterback Rex Kern.

PLEASE NOTE: Sloopy Auctions has determined the front panel to consist of a secretarial signature of Woody Hayes, most likely done by the same secretary or administrative assistant that signed Woody's name on a majority of his football clinic books. 

SLOOPY AUCTIONS FULL LETTER OF AUTHENTICITY (Woody Hayes signature deemed Secretarial) 

Views: 106