Lot # 2: Incredible 1883 Diploma Signed by School's First Two Presidents

Category: Autographs

Starting Bid: $900.00

Bids: 4 (Bid History)

Time Left: Auction closed
Lot / Auction Closed

This lot is closed. Bidding is not allowed.

Item was in Auction "Ohio Field Auction",
which ran from 8/11/2021 12:00 PM to
8/28/2021 8:00 PM

Original June 20, 1883 Diploma awarded by the Ohio State University to John Howard Galbraith with a Bachelor of Philosophy.  The Original Gold Seal of the University is intact as well as the original scarlet and gray attachment ribbons. This diploma also bears signatures of the first two Ohio State University Presidents Edward Orton (September 17, 1873 - June 21, 1881) and Walter Quincy Scott (June 21, 1881 - June 20, 1883).  This was executed on Scott's final day as the school's president.

These two men served short terms as president because they were unable to resolve the conflict among the faculty as to whether there should be daily religious exercise on OSU's campus.

The diploma is hand signed at the bottom by some of the original faculty members of OSU including Walker Quincy Scott (Religion), Albert Allen (Secretary), T.C. Mendenhall (Professor of Physiology), S.W. Robinson (Professor), W.R. Lazenby (First Professor of Botany and Horticulture), S.C. Derby (Professor of Latin and Greek), Alice K. Williams (Instructor of French and German), Edward Orton (Professor of Geology), Sidney A. Norton (Professor of Chemistry), Norton S. Townshend (First Professor of Agriculture), R.W. McFarland (Professor of Math and Civil Engineering), N.W. Lord (Professor of Metallurgy), F.H. Eldridge (Engineering), and George Ruhlen (USA Professor of Military Science and Tactics.

Orton previously was president of Antioch College from 1872-1873 and McFarland would become president of Miami University in 1885.


Views: 255